McLaren and Ferrari are two of the world’s most successful Formula 1 racing teams. Ferrari has won the Constructors' Championship a record 16 times (most recently in 2008) while McLaren has won the championship 8 times (most recent win in 1998). Ferrari drivers have won the Drivers' Championship 15 times while McLaren drivers have won 12 times.

Comparison chart

McLaren versus Scuderia Ferrari comparison chart
Edit this comparison chartMcLarenScuderia Ferrari
  • current rating is 4.03/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(39 ratings)
  • current rating is 4.03/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(38 ratings)
McLarenScuderia Ferrari
Full name Vodafone McLaren Mercedes "Scuderia Ferrari" (1950–1960, 2011–present), "Scuderia Ferrari SpA SEFAC" (1961–1989), "Scuderia Ferrari SpA" (1990–1996), "Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro" (1997–2011)
Base Woking, Surrey, United Kingdom Maranello, Italy
Technical director(s) Paddy Lowe, Neil Oatley Pat Fry
Engine Mercedes-Benz Ferrari
Tires Pirelli Pirelli
Debut 1966 Monaco Grand Prix 1950 Monaco Grand Prix
Races competed 722 852 (850 starts)
Constructors' Championships 8 (1974, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998) 16 (1961, 1964, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008)
Drivers' Championships 12 (1974, 1976, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2008) 15 (1952, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1964, 1975, 1977, 1979, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007)
Race victories 182 219
Current car Mercedes MP4-27 Ferrari F2012
Team principal(s) Martin Whitmarsh Stefano Domenicali
Race drivers 5. Jenson Button, 6. Sergio Pérez 3. Fernando Alonso, 4. Felipe Massa
Test drivers Gary Paffett, Oliver Turvey Davide Rigon, Marc Gené, Pedro de la Rosa
Chassis McLaren MP4-28 Ferrari F138
Pole positions 155 207
Fastest laps 151 227
2012 position 3rd (378 pts) 2nd (400 pts)

Early History

The McLaren team was formed in 1963 by Bruce McLaren under the name Bruce McLaren Motor Racing. The team debuted in the 1966 Monaco Grand Prix and won its first Grand Prix in 1968 in Belgium.

The Scuderia Ferrari team was founded by Enzo Ferrari in 1929. It was the official racing team of Alfa Romeo. After WWII, Ferrari began designing and building its own cars. The first Ferrari car was constructed in 1947, and it was entered in its first Grand Prix in 1948.

Best Years

McLaren dominated both the constructors’ championships and the drivers’ championships in the 1980s and early and late 1990s. The team’s first win was in 1974, in both constructors’ and drivers’ championships. They next won the drivers’ championship in 1976, and then won both awards again in 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1998. They also won the drivers’ championship in 1986 and 1999. The team last won in 2008.

Scuderia Ferrari is the only team to have competed in every season of the Formula One World Championship, from the first in 1950 to the present day. Ferrari won several drivers’ championships in the 1950s (52, 53, 56, 58) and in 1961, 64, 75 and 79. In 2000, Michael Schumacher was the first World Driver’s Champion for Ferrari in 21 years. He won again in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004, where Ferrari won first and second place, and also the constructors’ championships. Ferrari also won both the drivers’ and constructors’ championships in 2007 with Kimi Raikkonen.

Current Team

McLaren is currently managed by Martin Whitmarsh, with Paddy Lowe and Neil Oatley as the technical directors. Its race drivers are Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton, with Garry Paffett and Oliver Turney working as test drivers.

Ferrari is currently managed by Stefano Domenicali, with Pat Fry as the chassis director. Its race drivers are Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa, with Davide Rigon as the reserve.


McLaren currently hold the record for fastest stationary pit stop in motor racing.

Ferrari holds many records in Formula One, including most constructor championships (16), most driver championships (15), most Grand Prix participated (849), most wins (219), most podiums (664), and most fastest laps (227).

Greatest Drivers

The greatest McLaren drivers include Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen, James Hunt and Lewis Hamilton. Prost also drove for Ferrari. The most popular and successful Ferrari drivers include Michael Schumacher, Rubens Barrichello and Fernando Alonso.

McLaren vs Ferrari F1 Cars

Here are some pictures of McLaren cars. They are often red and white.

Ferrari's Formula One cars have a trademark blood red color. Here are some pictures:

Scuderia Ferrari on a track race
Scuderia Ferrari on a track race

Famous Crashes

In 1970, June Bruce was killed in a crash at Goodwood. He was testing a new car at the time. In 1978, Ronnie Peterson was killed in a crash at the Italian Grand Prix.

In 1957, Ferrari driver Eugenio Castellotti crashed into the crowd at the Mille Miglia. Twelve people died, and Ferrari were charged with manslaughter. In 1961, Wolfgang von Trips crashed at the Italian Grand Prix and was killed, along with over a dozen spectators. In 1967, Lorenzo Bandini crashed at the Monaco Grand Prix and was trapped under a burning car. He died several days later. Team leader Villeneuve also died during the Belgian Grand Prix in 1983.


Share this comparison:

If you read this far, you should follow us:

"McLaren vs Ferrari in Formula 1." Diffen LLC, n.d. Web. 18 Jan 2019. < >